The Roman Catholic Church in Canada has one cardinal, seven archbishops, twenty-three bishops, and about 1,500 clergy. The Church of England has two metropolitans and nineteen bishops, and about 1,000 clergy. The first colonial see established in the British Empire was that of Nova Scotia, 1787. In 1793 the Canadas were erected into a separate see. In 1839 the see of Toronto was established. In 1849 Rupert's Land received its first Anglican bishop, and British Columbia received its first in 1859. New Brunswick became a see, independent of Nova Scotia, 1845.

The Presbyterians became united as the Presbyterian Church in Canada in 1875. The Methodists were first united into one ecclesiastical organization in Canada in 1883.

The Census returns showed that the number of elergymen of all churches in Cauada, in 1891, was 7,164, an increase of 735 in the ten years.

RELIGIONS.

The following is a statement of the five chief denominations by provinces, according to the census of 1891:—

 				
Provinces.	Church of England.	Methodists.	Presbyterians.	Baptists.
Ontario. Quebec Nova Scotia. New Brunswick Manitoba British Columbia. Prince Edward Island The Territories	385,999 75,472 64,410 43,095 30,852 23,619 6,646 15,966	654,033 39,544 54,195 35,504 28,437 14,298 13,596 8,178	453,147 52,673 108,952 40,639 39,001 15,284 33,072 12,558	106,047 7,991 83,122 79,649 16,112 3,098 6,265 1,555
Canada	646,059	817,765	755,326	303,839
Provinces.	Other Denomina- tions.	Total.	Roman Catholics.	Grand Total.
Ontario Quebec Nova Scotia. New Brunswick Manitoba. British Columbia. Prince Edward Island The Territories	156,795 21,146 17,265 6,415 17,533 21,031 1,662 46,386	1,756,021 196,826 327,944 205,302 131,935 77,330 61,241 84,623	358,300 1,291,709 122,452 115,961 20,571 20,843 47,837 14,344	2,114,321 1,488,535 450,396 321,263 152,506 98,173 109,078 98,967
Canada	288,233	2,841,222	1,992,017	4,833,239